2nd International Violin Competition of Mirecourt

The year 2012 is organized around the second Mirecourt International Violin Competition.

The jury is chaired by Roland Daugareil et composé de Kyoko Takezawa, Marianne Piketty. Christian Altenburger and  Marco Rizzi.


All the tests of competition, the master classes given by the members of the jury, the conference of Françoise Gnéri and the concert of Quatuor Ardeo gathered 1,500 listeners in Mirecourt and Thaon-les-Vosges.

The 2012 edition of the Competition was of an exceptional level, with 40 candidates under the age of 25. The final featured four young talents, who were able to perform concertos by Mendelssohn and Tchaikowsky with the Orchester Symphonique et Lyrique de Nancy under the direction of Jonathan Schiffman, in front of more than 650 spectators.

The 2012 winners are:

  • Okada Shuichi which won the 1st Prize, and the Corelli Aubert Lutherie Bigot Prize, awarded to the most remarkable personality – a bow by Sylvain Bigot
  • Masaoka Eri, the second Prize
  • Bortolotto Laura, the Third Prize, the Audience Prize, the School of Violin Making Prize and the Palazzetto Bru Zane Center for French Romantic Music Prize for the best interpretation of the French sonata in the semi-finals
  • Kim Seayoung, the fourth Prize

To download:

The 2012 Violin Competition program

The press kit: